A summary view of me

I am a Canadian; a science fiction bookworm by type and a computer scientist by trade. I’ve traveled around the world via wrestling, rugby and Ultimate Frisbee tournaments, then I mellowed out into modern dance, Tai Chi and gardening. By working my way through school as a research programmer and tutor, I was able to learn from national lab level talent in coding while surfing all the academic fields the university offered. I find great clarity in the writing process, so a lot of my free time goes into alternate history, science fiction projects, storytelling mechanics for games and technical writings on the innovation process.

My passion is having passions. I love to throw myself into something new, for several years at a time, experiencing the ups and downs along the journey from student to craftsman to coach. I’m a learning junkie, essentially. That exciting twist in the gut when you make a connection between thoughts or find a solution to a blocking problem: that’s the moment I work for. It can be a joint riff with the team at the office or a late-night thinking binge, or better still, both 😉

I’ve coached in both sports and software; I love to find the path that connects someone to a solution. The position I play on a team varies. If the team needs a quarterback, I’ll handle the ball. If the team has a quarterback, I’ll run the ball, play linebacker, or take over a troubled software system. I like to win more than I like to fill a single role. Solving complex problems with a great team of people is what I do; which particular part of the problem I tackle is less important than the team.

Leave a comment